SchoolOpExSchool Operational Excellence Join the waitlist

SchoolOpEx vs Gradelink

Choose SchoolOpEx if you want every feature in one published price with no setup fee, and can start in summer 2027. Choose Gradelink if you need a system running today. For 60 students, Gradelink’s own calculator shows $175 a month plus a $275 setup fee; SchoolOpEx is $80 a month, or $640 a year.

From each company’s own website, checked Nov 2, 2026.

Choose SchoolOpEx if

  • You want every feature in your plan, online enrollment and signatures included
  • You want no setup fee, and messages translated for families (planned at launch)
  • You can wait until summer 2027, or apply as a founding school for April 2027

Choose Gradelink if

  • You need a system running before summer 2027
  • You want a parent app in the App Store and Google Play
  • You want text and voice messages to families, with its SmartSend Pro add-on

Price for your size, paying monthly

Gradelink bills monthly, so this compares monthly with monthly. SchoolOpEx also bills yearly at 8 times the monthly price. Before payment processing fees and sales tax. Gradelink’s figures come from the price calculator on its own site.

Monthly price by number of students
StudentsSchoolOpExGradelink
20 students$20 a monthUp to 20 students; no setup fee; online enrollment included$106 a monthPlus $275 one-time setup; online enrollment (EnrollMe) adds $20.75 a month and $497 setup
30 students$50 a monthUp to 50 students; no setup fee; online enrollment included$129 a monthPlus $275 one-time setup; online enrollment (EnrollMe) adds $20.75 a month and $497 setup
60 students$80 a monthUp to 100 students; no setup fee; online enrollment included$175 a monthPlus $275 one-time setup; online enrollment (EnrollMe) adds $25 a month and $497 setup
120 students$175 a monthUp to 300 students; no setup fee; online enrollment included$225 a monthPlus $330 one-time setup; online enrollment (EnrollMe) adds $50 a month and $497 setup

Side by side

“Not stated” means Gradelink’s own pages did not say, which is not the same as no. SchoolOpEx’s column says “At launch” until each part ships.

SchoolOpEx compared with Gradelink
QuestionSchoolOpExOpens summer 2027SourcesGradelinkSchool information systemSources
How it is pricedBy enrolled students; every feature in every planA monthly price by enrolled students, from a calculator on its site
Setup feeNone; optional done-for-you requests from $77$275 one-time ($330 at 120 students); its EnrollMe add-on adds $497
ContractNone; pay monthly or yearlyMonthly, with no long-term contract, says its pricing page
Paid add-onsNone; more room for photos and files is optionalEnrollMe online enrollment, SmartSend Pro texts and voice; other options by quote
Extra fee on family paymentsNoneThrough PaySimple or FACTS; with FACTS, families pay $50 a year and 2.85% by card
Report cardsAt launchFilled in from the gradebook; teachers add comments and approveYes, customizable
Leaving: your dataAt launchDownload everything free, any time, and for 90 days after you cancelDownload to CSV, and for 30 days after leaving
Online enrollment and signaturesAt launchWith signatures on any phoneWith its EnrollMe add-on
Messages translated for familiesAt launchSpanish and ArabicNot stated; the family portal comes in English, Spanish or Chinese
Selling personal informationNever sold, and never used to train AISays it has not sold personal data in the last 12 months

What SchoolOpEx fills in for you

  1. TeachersA teacher fills in the week’s lesson plans.Homework becomes assignments, and Friday’s summary for families is drafted from the plans.The teacher adds a highlight or a photo and taps Send.
  2. TeachersTeachers grade through the term.Report cards fill in from the gradebook, with weights and attendance.Teachers add comments, and each card is approved before families see it.
  3. The officeAttendance opens with everyone marked present.Families of a child absent with no reason hear within the hour, and the office sees which classes are still open.Staff decide who to follow up with.
  4. The officeA bill comes due.Reminders go out before and after the due date, and stop when it is paid or autopay is on.You set the schedule and can pause it for any family.

Planned for launch in summer 2027. Weekly summaries and report cards never go to families until a person sends or approves them. Everything SchoolOpEx fills in

Moving from Gradelink

What comes over
Families, students, contacts, staff and classes from Gradelink’s CSV downloads, which its pricing page says cover everything.
What does not
Saved payment cards, which families add once from a one-tap link, and anything Gradelink does not export.
When to move
Gradelink’s terms give 30 days after leaving to download your data, so download before you cancel. Families hear nothing from SchoolOpEx until you invite them.

Questions

Questions schools ask about switching from Gradelink

How much does Gradelink cost for 60 students?

Gradelink’s price calculator shows $175 a month for 60 enrolled students, plus a $275 one-time setup fee, with online enrollment (EnrollMe) at $25 a month and $497 setup on top. SchoolOpEx is $80 a month or $640 a year for up to 100 students, with every feature included and no setup fee.

Does SchoolOpEx charge for online enrollment or messages?

No. Every plan includes every feature, online enrollment, signatures and messages included. The only optional extra is more room for photos and files.

Can we move from Gradelink in the middle of a school year?

Yes. Families, students, staff and classes come over from Gradelink’s CSV downloads, and nothing is saved until you approve the preview. Saved cards cannot be copied, so families add a payment method once.

Can we start using SchoolOpEx now?

Not yet. SchoolOpEx opens in summer 2027. Founding schools get free early access in April and May 2027.

Prices from each company’s own website, checked Nov 2, 2026. Prices change, so check with each company. Product names are trademarks of their owners; SchoolOpEx is not affiliated with them. Something out of date? Tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it. See every comparison

Join the waitlist

SchoolOpEx opens in summer 2027, in time for the 2027 to 2028 school year. Join the waitlist to hear the day it opens. Before then, we only write when there is real progress to show.

  • Prices are published, and every plan includes every feature
  • Schools invited from the waitlist get setup tasks done free for their first 90 days
  • One click to leave the list, any time

Add details Optional

Run a school, learning center or co-op? Apply to be a founding school for early access in April 2027.

Your answers are kept by MailerLite, our email service. You can leave the list from any email we send. Privacy notice